Jessup Playbooks Logo

ENG 255 Assignment Playbook

This playbook contains materials for ENG 255 (Major Writers in World Literature).

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian @
Betty Sue Jessup Library

501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu

The Book

African Stories
Civil Peace (Chinua Achebe) / Africa Emergent (Nadine Gordimer) / The Collector of Treasures (Bessie Head) / Who Will Stop the Dark? (Charles Mungoshi) / A Meeting in the Dark (Ngugi wa Thion'o) / Selected African Anthologies
 
Chinese Stories
The Destination (Wang Anyi) / Sketches from the "Cattle Shed" (Ding Ling) / Kite Streamers (Wang Meng) / Regarding the Problem of Newborn Pigletsin Winter (Cheng Rong) / The Man from a Peddlers' Family (Lu Wenfu) / Selected Chinese Anthologies
 
Indian Stories
Pigeons at Daybreak (Anita Desai) / Dhowli (Mahasaweta Devi) / The Interview (Ruth Prawer Jhabvala) / A Horse and Two Goats (R.K. Narayan) / The Wog (Khushwant Sing) / Selected Indian Anthologies
 
Japanese Stories
The Magic Chalk (Kobo Abe) / The Tomoshibi (Sawako Ariyoshi) / The Moon on the Water (Yasunari Kawabata) / Act of Worship (Yukio Mishima) / The Silent Traders (Yuko Tsushima) / Selected Japanese Anthologies
 
Latin American Stories
Clarisa (Isabel Allende) / The Book of Sand (Jorge Luis Borges) / The Cost of Living (Carlos Fuentes) / Death Constant Beyond Love (Gabriel Garcia Marquez) / Papito's Story (Luisa Valenzuela) / Selected Latin American Antologies 

African Stories

Are you writing about a story written by an African author? Follow the steps below.

Step 1. Read about African literature

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas: African Literature

African Literature: An Anthology of Criticism and Theory

Student Encyclopedia of African Literature

Step 2: Read about the specific author

Use the Gale eBooks to learn about the author. Use the author's name in the search box.

Try other databases too.  For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Step 3: Read about the country the author comes from/writes about

Nigeria

Botswana

Zimbabwe

South Africa

Step 4: Read about themes found in the stories

Apartheid

Colonialism

Postcolonialism

Westernization: Africa

Step 5: Use research databases to find more sources

For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Chinese Stories

Are you writing about a story by a Chinese author? Follow the steps below.

Step 1: Read about Chinese literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World: Chinese Literature

Historical Dictionary of Modern Chinese Literature

The Columbia History of Chinese Literature

Step 2: Read about the specific author

Use the Gale Virtual Reference Library to learn about the author. Use the author's name in the search box.

Try other databases too.  For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Step 3: Read about themes found in the stories

Communism in China

Mao's Cultural Revolution

The Great Leap Forward

Chinese Culture

China's Culture

Step 4: Use research databases to find more sources

For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Indian Stories

Are you writing a story written by an Indian author? Follow the steps below.

Step 1. Read about Indian literature

Modern Indian literature

Literature and Life

Indian Women's Short Fiction in English: Exploring the Neglected Form

Indian Traffic: Identities in Question in Colonial and Postcolonial India

Spicy Pleasures: Postcolonial India's Literary Celebrities and the Politics of Consumption

Step 2: Read about the specific author

Use the Gale Virtual Reference Library to learn about the author. Use the author's name in the search box.

Try other databases too.  For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Step 3: Read about themes found in the stories

Colonialism

Postcolonialism

Westernization: South Asia

Caste

Gender roles

Religion

Political and social commentary

Love and relationships

Step 4: Use research databases to find more sources

For links to databases, go to the Databases section (the last section on the page)

Japanese Authors: Resources

Article(s) available from the library

Ariyoshi Sawako: Creative Social Critic

The articles listed below are not available in the library. Please request them by filling out the Interlibrary Loan  form.

  • "A Critique of Ariyoshi Sawako: Hanaoka Seishu no Tsuma."  In Proceedings of the British Association for Japanese Studies, 1984: IX, edited by Chapman, John, Steeds, David, 42-53. Sheffield: Centre for Jap. Studies, Univ. of Sheffield, 1985.
  • McClain, Yoko. "Ariyoshi Sawako: Creative Social Critic." Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese, 12.2-3 (1977): 211-228.
  • Tahara, Mildred. "The Early Works of Ariyoshi Sawako: Contemporary Japanese Woman Novelist."  In Studies on Japanese Culture, Vols. I and II, edited by Ota, Saburo, Fukuda, Rikutaro, I, 426-432. Tokyo: Japan P.E.N. Club, 1973.

Article(s) available from the library

Gender and Cross-Cultural Analysis: The Novels of Tsushima Yuko, 1976-1985

The articles listed below are not available in the library. Please request them by filling out the Interlibeary Loan form.

  • Christiansen, Amy: "Tsushima Yuko" In (pp. 246-50) Mostow, Joshua S. (general ed. and introd.), Denton, Kirk A. (associate ed. and introd.), Fulton, Bruce (associate ed. and introd.), Orbaugh, Sharalyn (associate ed. and introd.), The Columbia Companion to Modern East Asian Literature, New York, NY: Columbia UP, 2003. x, 803 pp.. (2003)
  • Enomoto, Yoshiko."The Reality of Pregnancy and Motherhood for Women: Tsushima Yuko's Choji and Margaret Drabble's The Millstone." Comparative Literature Studies 35.2 (1998): 116-124.
  • Gessel, Van C. "When Seeing Is Not Believing: Tsushima Yuko's 'Hikarikagayaku itten o'" In Currents in Japanese Culture, edited by Heinrich, Amy Vladeck, 409-423. New York, NY: Columbia UP, 1997.
  • Hartley, Barbara: "Writing the Body of the Mother: Narrative Moments in Tsushima Yuko, Ariyoshi Sawako and Enchi Fumiko" Japanese Studies, (23:3), 2003, 293-305. . (2003)
  • Monnet, Livia. "The Politics of Miscegenation: The Discourse of Fantasy in 'Fusehime' by Tsushima Yūko." Japan Forum 5.1 (1993 Apr): 53-73.