Publisher’s description -- Librarians face a myriad of copyright dilemmas every day, and as copyright law evolves and new interpretations emerge, libraries play a key role in representing the public in the copyright debate. But how do new copyright laws affect traditional services and new virtual reference user services? What must librarians do to ensure that staff and patrons fully exercise copyright exemptions, like fair use? Offering a wealth of information on library copyright concerns in a vibrant, highly accessible format, Complete Copyright is a must-have resource for your library. ALA copyright expert Russell provides clear, user-friendly guidance for both common copyright issues and latest trends, including the intricacies of copyright in the digital world. Through real-life examples, she also illustrates how librarians can be advocates for a fair and balanced copyright law.
With the sixth edition, "The Copyright Book" has been thoroughly updated to cover copyright for the Internet age, discussing a range of developments in the law since 2000. New material includes greatly expanded coverage of infringement and fair use, with detailed discussion of recent decisions. The new edition considers such topics as open access, the defeat of the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA), file-sharing, e-reserves, the status of "orphan works," and the latest developments under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA). The sixth edition also brings up to date explanation of such fundamental topics as authorship and ownership; transfers and licenses of copyright; copyright notice; registration of copyright; the cope of rights included in copyright, and exceptions to those rights; moral rights; compulsory licenses; tax treatment of copyright; and international aspects of copyright law. As copyright issues grow ever more complicated, "The Copyright Book" becomes ever more indispensable. -- From publisher’s description.
Today, educators and students have access to a vast, rich array of online materials that can be used for instruction, but these resources often remain untapped because of confusion over copyright laws. In this slim jargon-free guide, media literacy expert Renee Hobbs presents simple principles for applying copyright law and the doctrine of fair use to 21st-century teaching and learning. Complete with a ready-to-go staff development workshop, this book explores what is permissible in the classroom; fair use of digital materials such as images, music, movies, and Internet elements found on sites such as Google and YouTube; trends in intellectual property law and copyright practices; and classroom projects using copyrighted materials. "Copyright Clarity" helps educators unlock Internet and digital media resources for classroom use while respecting the rights of copyright holders. -- From publisher’s description.
No writers like to see their hard work or creativity copied by others -- or to be accused of copying. Fortunately, "The Copyright Handbook" provides everything you need to protect yourself! Find information and forms to help you: register your work; maximize copyright protection; transfer ownership of copyright; avoid infringement; deal with infringers; understand the "fair use" rule; get permission to use copyrighted work; and profit from your copyright. The 11th edition is updated to provide the latest copyright regulations and rules for filing a copyright online. -- From publisher’s description.
Copyright in the world of digital information is changing at a fevered pace, even as educators and librarians digitize, upload, download, draw on databases, and incorporate materials into Web-based instruction. It’s essential to stay abreast of the basics of copyright law and fair use. Kenneth D. Crews has completely revised his classic text to remap the territory with fresh, timely insights into applications of copyright law for librarians, educators, and academics. -- From product description.
Whether you are in the world of business or creative arts, understanding the laws that govern your work is critical to success. But given the often convoluted terminology that surrounds patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other intellectual property rights, this isn’t easy. Enter, "Patent, Copyright & Trademark", which explains: what legal rights apply to your work; the scope of copyright protection; an overview of trademark law; what the law protects and much more. Here, you’ll find readily understandable definitions of intellectual property law terms straightforward explanations of how intellectual property law affects online content -- and much more. -- From publisher’s description.
Millions of creative works -- books, artwork, photos, songs, movies, and more -- are available copyright-free in the public domain. You can use Shakespeare and Sherlock Holmes, Beethoven and Irving Berlin, the Mona Lisa and Monet. "The Public Domain" is the only book that helps you find and identify which creative works are protected by copyright and which are not. It covers the rules for: writings, music, art, photography, architecture, maps, choreography, movies, video, software, databases, and collections. -- From publisher’s description.
In the increasingly complex and combative arena of copyright in the digital age, teachers wonder if they can teach about popular culture or put images in their slide presentations; remix artists and feminist critics wonder if they’ll get in trouble for making a sharp political commentary in video; and filmmakers want to know whether that music in the background of their shot needs to be cleared. Misinformation abounds. Patricia Aufderheide and Peter Jaszi chart a clear path through the confusion by urging a robust embrace of a principle long embedded in copyright law but too often misunderstood -- fair use. By challenging the widely held notion that current copyright law has become unworkable and obsolete in the era of digital technologies, "Reclaiming Fair Use" promises to reshape the debate in both scholarly circles and the creative community. Based on the authors’ years of experience working with creative professionals, this indispensable guide offers no-nonsense advice and practical examples for content producers. -- From publisher’s description.