ENG 111 & 112 Course Playbook

To conduct research systematically and efficiently, follow the 6 steps listed below, and use the library's home page to keep yourself on track.

Step 1.  Choose a topic

Step 2. Get a general overview of the topic (background information)

Step 3. Narrow your topic (make it more specific)

Step 4. Find reliable sources

Step 5.  Read, take notes, organize your citations

Step 6. Repeat steps 1-5 as much as needed (and in any order) before you begin writing the essay

NOTE: Following the steps in order is strongly recommended as a best practice, especially for novices, because a systematic approach is efficient and saves time in the long run.  However, this is not mandatory, and as the researcher, you can choose to follow a different approach. 

At a loss for what to write about? The library can help you find topics of research.

Go to the Database List

Look on the right hand side and identify the Start With These Databases box. Find topics by browsing the following databases:

CQ Researcher

Facts on File: Issues & Controversies

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Each of the above databases has lists of topics that can help inspire you. Bonus: clicking on a topic will bring up a lot of information about it that you can use as background information to prepare you for your research.

Researchers always start the research process by reading background information on topics, to get an overview of the ideas, concepts, terms, important people, etc., associated with the topic.

• The library has a database specifically for background information. It's called Gale eBooks, and it includes information from encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, etc. 
• You can access Gale eBooks by going to the library's home page and searching in the box under START HERE.  Just type in your general subject (ex.: tobacco) and click Search. 
• When you get your results, click on a title to get to the article. 

Q: Can I use Wikipedia for background information?

A: You should not.  Wikipedia is not appropriate for researchers who are affiliated with a higher education institution. As such a researcher, you have access to materials that are of much higher quality. 

Note: Some instructors allow the use of Wikipedia -- always follow your instructor's guidelines for every assignment.

• Narrowing a topic means making it more specific.

Cats --- Cat diseases --- Feline leukemia --- Treatments for feline leukemia

• Try to narrow these topics on your own:

Weather --- winter weather -- snow --- snow sports -- skiing

Cars -- Sports cars -- Italian sports cars -- Ferrari -- Ferrari features

• Narrowing a topic helps you identify terms to use for searching

Topic: Treatments for feline leukemia

Search terms:  "feline leukemia" AND treatments

• Practice: Which of the topics below is the narrowest? Which is the broadest?
  • Mars exploration
  • space exploration
  • cost vs. benefits of exploring Mars

Watch this ResearchMinute video to learn how to narrow topics. 

Use the library's home page to search for books and articles. Evaluate the reliability of sources using the CRAAP method.  This is especially important when evaluating Web sources.

Watch this ResearchMinute video to learn how to use the CRAAP method of source evaluation.

• Reading is a crucial part of the process
• Take notes or highlight information as you read
• Save time by creating citations and notes as you go along (see example below)

Source citation:  Enter the full source citation here.

Notes:  Add quotes (add page numbers if available), summaries, things you find interesting, etc.

The research process is iterative, so you will need to repeat the steps more than once.  If you only go through the process once, you're not doing it right, and it will show in your final product.

For help with the research process, contact the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu

• For help finding resources, use the information in the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
• For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's. 
• For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), please visit the Writing Center.
• If you have questions, please email the  librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.