- PVCC Jessup Library
- Jessup Playbooks
- EDU Assignment Playbook
- EDU 200 & 250 (Surratt)
Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
EDU Assignment Playbook
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
About this playbook
- This playbook contains resources for assignments in Surratt's EDU 200 and EDU 250.
- Before working with the resources, read your assignment several times, to make sure you understand what is expected of you.
- If you have questions regarding the assignment, please contact your instructor.
- If you need other help, see the "Need Help?" section below.
Find & Research Topics
- To find topic ideas, inspiration, and sources, visit the resources below.
- To learn how to set up a complimentary New York Times account, see this playbook.
- For more effective and efficient searching, see this tutorial about Boolean searching.
- Education Research Complete and ERIC are databases specifically dedicated to topics in the field of education.
- Education Commission of the StatesThe Education Commission of the States provides information on education policy.
- Education WeekIndependent organization covering K-12 news and information.
- National Education AssociationFind information about current issues in education, and more.
- New York Times Education SectionArticles about education.
- Eric databaseThe government's education database.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Large database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Full-text coverage: 1930-present (EBSCOhost)
- Think Tanks Search EngineSearch a variety of think tanks, both partisan and not partisan..
- List of School Districts in the U.S.Find and research United States school districts.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Large database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Full-text coverage: 1930-present (EBSCOhost)
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
- Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window
Search over millions of newspaper articles all at once. (Ex Libris)
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business-focused database offers full-text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and newswires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Full-text coverage: 1951-present (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.)
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan American think tank that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts and conducts various types of research on topics such as politics, religion, media, and science
Finding peer-reviewed articles
Peer-reviewed articles (also called refereed articles) are those that have gone through an editorial process that assures quality research.
Finding peer-reviewed articles can be done by using the EBSCO database, which provides a filter that allows the user to only get results that are peer-reviewed.
But what if the database you're using doesn't have a way to filter results so you only get peer-reviewed articles? When that happens, your best bet is to use UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory, which allows you to search for a journal and see whether it is peer-reviewed. To learn how to use this directory, see the tutorial.
Let's Practice!
[1] Are these articles from peer-reviewed journals? Use UlrichsWeb to find out. The journal titles are in italics.
Brodie, J.M. (2009). New report questions charter school effectiveness. Education Daily, 42(110), 1-3.
Carruthers, C.K. (2012). New schools, new students, new teachers: Evaluating the effectiveness of charter schools. Economics of Education Review , 31(2), 280-292. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.econedurev.2011.06.001
Grosskopf, S., Hayes, K.J., & Taylor, L.L. (2009). The relative efficiency of charter schools. Annals of Public and Cooperative Economics, 80(1), 67-87. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8292.2008.00381.x
[2] Find peer-reviewed articles for your assignment.
Using the education databases (Eric, Education Research Complete), find 2 peer-reviewed articles for your selected topic.
Need Help?
- For help finding resources, use the information in the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
- For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's.
- For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), please visit the Writing Center.
- If you have questions, please email the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.