Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
ENG 111 & 112 Assignment Playbook
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
About Your Assignment
For this assignment you will be writing a review, an evaluation of an art form (movie, TV series, book, painting, musical, game, podcast, or other art form). Before you start, read the assignment instructions very carefully until you understand what's expected of you. If you have questions, please contact your instructor.
Finding reviews for your chosen art form may be difficult or impossible.This depends on what you have chosen. Do not get discouraged, and be prepared to choose something else to review.
Where to Find Reviews
- To find reviews for your chosen item, you will use the library's databases. The most useful databases are linked below.
- For your keywords, use the name of the item you want reviews for, a descriptor for it (song, book, novel, game, podcast, artist name, etc.) and the word "review."
- Use the connector AND in between the words.
- Examples:
- Barbie AND movie AND review
- "Song of the cell" AND book AND review
- vampire AND olivia rodrigo AND review
- stardew valley AND game AND review
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes many major national and international newspapers, as well as many smaller local papers. Also features many television and radio news transcripts. Full-text coverage: 1994-present (EBSCOhost)
-
Newspaper Search This link opens in a new window
Search over millions of newspaper articles all at once. (Ex Libris)
-
America’s News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. (NewsBank)
-
New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
Read the New York Times articles as published on their website. You must register for a free account first. Full-text coverage: 1851-present (New York Times Company)
-
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc.
Websites
You can use some websites to find reviews, as long as the reviewers are professional journalists. Please limit yourself to the links below.
Need Help?
- For help finding resources, use the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
- For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's.
- For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), visit the Writing Center.
- If you have questions, email the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.