Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
Multimedia and Images Playbook
This playbook offers links to a variety of videos, audio clips and images. Modified with permission from Denise Woetzel, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College.
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian @
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Web Sites: Video
These are just a few places to find video sources. Remember to keep copyright in mind!
-
American History in Video This link opens in a new windowFrom Alexander Street Press, offers over 5000 videos and clips, including newsreels and documentaries on American history. Browse by historical era or event or search for specific topics. To access this resource from off campus, log in with your MyPVCC username and password.
-
C-SpanFeatures both audio and video segments from recent programs. Includes press briefings, congressional hearings, and more.
-
CNN VideoWatch breaking news, world news, politics, business, health, law, sports, science and technology, entertainment, or offbeat videos all on free video.
-
DiscoveryWatch video clips from various Discovery Channels.
-
FedFlixJoint venture between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org. Features the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowWatch streaming videos on guidance and counseling, and health and medicine. To access this resource from off campus, log in with your MyPVCC username and password.
-
Films on Demand: History Video Collection This link opens in a new window
From America to Zimbabwe, from the ancient world to the present day, this collection of thousands of history titles brings to life the time and place you are studying. This database contains an unparalleled collection of documentaries, educational videos, interviews, speeches, and newsreels. (Infobase)
-
Google Video SearchUse the Google search engine to search for video clips on Google Video, YouTube, and the web.
-
History ChannelProvides access to many of its programs as well as historical clips and footage of speeches.
-
Hulu Films, DocumentariesStreams full-length independent documentaries on a variety of subjects.
-
Internet Moving Images ArchiveThis collection contains thousands of videos which range from classic full-length movies, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to user-uploaded videos of every genre.
-
Khan AcademyProvides access to free online educational tutorials, videos and assessments.
-
KQED Public MediaPBS videos and shows.
-
NASA Image and Video LibraryThe official Web site of NASA provides access to images, videos, podcasts and video podcasts. Watch NASA Television live to see within Mission Control and the International Space Station's Destiny Laboratory.
-
National Geographic Channel VideosOffers both full episodes and clips of its programming.
-
PBSView selected video clips from a variety of PBS shows.
-
Smithsonian ChannelOffers clips and full episodes in the areas of air and space, science and nature, culture, history and kids.
-
SNAGfilmsOffers documentaries on a variety of topics, including: arts, campus, environment, health and history.
-
TEDTalksOffers presentations by renowned speakers on a variety of topics, including: technology, entertainment, art, design, business, science and global issues.
-
WGBH Open VaultContains video, images and transcripts produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
-
YouTubeFree online video streaming service that allows users to view and share videos that have been uploaded by members.