The most frequently-used databases
Explore news, insights, and trends in higher education from the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. Full text coverage: 2015-present (The Chronicle)
Visit Betty Sue Jessup Library to access the print version of The Chronicle.
Comprehensive source of full-text journals and books indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Also features evidence-based care sheets, legal cases, drug records, and more. Full-text coverage: 1937-present (EBSCOhost)
CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report is written by a seasoned journalist based on a common structure. Users may browse through articles by topics in alphabetical order, or search for articles using words, dates, or other criteria. Full-text coverage: 1923-present (CQ Press)
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc.
Premier database for education research, maintained by the US Department of Education. Includes bibliographic records and selected full-text for journal articles, curriculum materials, and more. Access it through the US government's website. (EBSCOhost)
Business-focused database offers full-text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and newswires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Full-text coverage: 1951-present (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.)
Gale Literature searches these Gale resources: Gale eBooks, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature Criticism, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne’s Authors Online. (Gale)
Includes thousands of articles and ebooks, mostly in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. PVCC subscribes to Arts & Sciences Collections I-III, VII, & XI, as well as select titles through the current journals collection. Full-text coverage: 1769-present (JSTOR)
This database pulls together data and statistics from thousands of sources on many different topics. Download the charts and graphs provided in this database and incorporate them into your presentations. Much of the focus is on demographic data, company data, and market trends. (Statista)
This comprehensive database of legal materials includes federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. It also has American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and articles from hundreds of law reviews and journals. (Westlaw)
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more. Emphasizing source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the crucial skills of information and digital literacy. (Modern Language Association)
