- PVCC Jessup Library
- Jessup Playbooks
- ECO Assignments Playbook
- ECO 201C (Shukla)
Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
ECO Assignments Playbook
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Assignment: Economic Effects Analysis & Reflection
- For this assignment, you will analyze the economic effects of the Texas Heartbeat Act (see attached PDF of the act). You will also write a reflection.
- Before beginning the assignment, read the assignment instructions several times, until you are sure you understand what's expected of you.
- If you have questions about the assignment, contact your instructor.
Prepare to Research: Learn About the Topic
- Use the links below to read articles about the topic.
- The Texas law is still fairly new, so there might not be a lot of material about it. But abortion bans and restrictions are not new. Apply what you learn about abortion bans and restrictions to the Texas case.
- When reading sources, keep a list of keywords that you can later use in searches. For example: abortion ban, abortion restriction, etc.
- The term "economic consequences" is broad and vague, which can have a negative effect on finding sources. As you read, focus on specific economic consequences and use those words as keywords for searching.
- For a more robust report/paper, you may want to keep in mind that economic consequences of policies can affect individuals but also society in general, and research accordingly.
-
Abortion in the Lives of Women Struggling Financially: Why Insurance Coverage MattersFrom the Guttmacher Institute.
-
Abortion Limits Carry Economic Cost for WomenWomen share their experiences -- these are primary sources. From NPR.
-
As States Eye Texas-Style Abortion Bans, Economic Costs to Bottom Line and Women Are HighFrom the Institute for Women's Policy Research.
-
Limiting Abortion Access Contributes to Poor Maternal Health OutcomesFrom the Center for American Progress
-
The Macroeconomics of Abortion: A Scoping Review and Analysis of the Costs and OutcomesFrom PLoS One (via EBSCO)
-
Rhetoric vs. Reality: How Abortion Bans Hurt WomenFrom the Center for American Progress.
-
Abortion Access Is Key to Economic FreedomFrom the Joint Economic Committee/Democrats (JECDEMS)
-
The Turnaway StudyFrom Advancing New Standards in Reproductive Health.
-
What Can Economic Research Tell Us About the Effect of Abortion Access on Women’s Lives?From the Brookings Institution.
-
The Economic Cost of AbortionFrom the Joint Economic Committee/Republicans
-
The Economics of Abortion BansFrom the Economic Policy Institute
-
Brief of 240 Women Scholars et al. in Support of PetitionersU.S. Supreme Court
-
Counting the Cost of the Abortion BanFrom Chatham House
-
The Economic Consequences of Being Denied an AbortionFrom the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy
-
The Economic Implications of Abortion BansFrom the Colorado Fiscal Institute
-
Limiting Abortion Access for American Women Impacts Health, Economic Security: An International ComparisonFrom The Commonwealth Fund
-
Report: Abortion Costs U.S. Economy $6.9 TrillionFrom the U.S. House Committee on Ways & Means
-
State Abortion Bans Harm More Than 15 Million Women of ColorFrom The National Partnership for Women & Families
-
State Abortion Bans Will Harm Women and Families’ Economic Security Across the U.S.From the Center for American Progress
-
Texas Policy Evaluation ProjectThe Texas Policy Evaluation Project (TxPEP) evaluates the impact of legislation and policies in Texas related to contraception and abortion. It is based at The University of Texas at Austin Population Research Center.
-
What Can Economic Research Tell Us About the Effect of Abortion Access on Women’s Lives?From the Brookings Institution
-
Texas's Latest Boom Is Its Biggest YetFrom The Economist
Find Sources: Library Databases
- Use the databases and other resources below to find sources for your topics.
- Search using the keywords you collected while doing background reading.
- To learn how to use a specific database, click the red "Tutorial" button.
-
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
-
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to law journals, case law, and congressional documents. It is a great resource if you are doing legal research.
-
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database of legal materials includes federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. It also has American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and articles from hundreds of law reviews and journals. (Westlaw)
-
New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
Read the New York Times articles as published on their website. You must register for a free account first. Full-text coverage: 1851-present (New York Times Company)
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage: 1743-present (ProQuest)
EBSCO Search Example
Step 1:
Notice that the search terms abortion and economics are subject terms. Add the United States to further narrow your search.
Step 2:
Limit to a certain year range. In this example, the results are from 2010 to 2021. Narrow and refine your results further by choosing academic journals.
Literature Review
Cite Your Sources: Using the APA Citation Style
- Learn how to use the APA citation style by going to the page linked below.
- This APA guide has been created especially for the needs of PVCC students, and contains templates, examples, and models to help you format your work in the APA citation style.
Need Help?
- For help finding resources, use the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
- For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's.
- For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), visit the Writing Center.
- If you have questions, email the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.