Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
Koster's ENG 246 Assignment Playbook
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Finding Sources: Databases
Use the databases below to find sources for your essays. The best way to search these databases is to use the name of the author, or to use the name of the work. For more information on how to use specific databases, see "How Do I Conduct Literary Research?"
Note: If you're writing from a specific critical perspective or literary movement, do not use its name in the searches, as literary critics do not announce the perspective they're writing from. Instead, study the perspective's characteristics and apply them to the text yourself.
- Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection represents a comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres. Each title in the collection was edited by Harold Bloom, a leading American literary critic and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University. (Infobase)
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A set of electronic encyclopedias and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects and disciplines, such as health and medicine, history, and criminal justice. (Gale)
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature searches these Gale resources: Gale eBooks, Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature Criticism, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne’s Authors Online. (Gale)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of articles and ebooks, mostly in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. PVCC subscribes to Arts & Sciences Collections I-III, VII, & XI, as well as select titles through the current journals collection. Full-text coverage: 1769-present (JSTOR)
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to hundreds of journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Full-text coverage: 1906-present (Johns Hopkins University Press)
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
