- PVCC Jessup Library
- Jessup Playbooks
- PLS 135 Course Playbook
- Organizations and Power
Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
PLS 135 Course Playbook
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Assignment: Organizations and Power
For this assignment, you will discuss how advocacy organizations exercise power. Read the assignment instructions provided by your instructor to learn more.
Eric Liu's You're More Powerful Than You Think: A Citizen's Guide to Making Change Happen will provide a guide for your analysis and examples of how organizations use power, but it will be your responsibility to apply that framework to your chosen organization.
Remember, you will need to identify which of the author's strategies the organizations use, how they apply the strategies, and whether or not these strategies are successful.
Websites
You will need to choose one of the following organizations for the assignment. The official website of each organization is linked below.
Finding Sources
For this assignment, you must use academic sources in addition to the organization's websites linked above. To find those sources, start with the databases listed here. If you are wondering what an academic source is, check out this playbook.
You can find a great deal of information on your chosen organization using just its name. Try putting the name of the organization into each of the databases below. You can also add terms like
- advocacy
- lobby
- power
- astroturfing
- grassroots
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc. - Facts on File: Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Includes articles, videos, and primary source documents. (Infobase Learning) - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A set of electronic encyclopedias and reference books covering a wide variety of subjects and disciplines, such as health and medicine, history, and criminal justice. (Gale) - QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog to find ebooks, articles, physical books, etc. (Ex Libris) - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
Need help?
- For help finding resources, use the information in the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
- For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's.
- For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), please visit the Writing Center.
- If you have questions, please email the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.