Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research. Browse by subject, or find them alphabetically by title. Then click on the database name and search for sources.
Browse Database List
Find Databases by Title

Loading...
Search for eJournals by Title

Search for electronic journals by title, such as "New York Times" or "Journal of the American Medical Association."



New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
  • Video clips are available
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s) CMOS Online, The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago style is a set of citation rules created by the University of Chicago Press. This style is widely used in publishing, and is also used by other humanities and social sciences disciplines.
Choice
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s) ChoiceReviews Online
Choice is a publishing unit of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. Choice supports the work and professional development of academic librarians by providing tools and services that help them become more effective advocates for their patrons.
HistoryMakers
New
Contains video oral history interviews of many important African Americans from all walks of life. Rather than focusing on a single subject, such as their career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews cover their entire span of memories. The archive continues to grow with new videos added daily and memories stretching from 1890s to the present. (HistoryMakers)
New York Times Website
New
Read the New York Times articles as published on their website. You must register for a free account first. Full-text coverage: 1851-present (New York Times Company)
PrepSTEP for Community Colleges
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Video clips are available
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
  • eBooks and eAudioBooks
New
Alternate Name(s) LearningExpress
Succeed in college and beyond! PrepSTEP for Community Colleges is packed with online tutorials, practice tests, quizzes, e-books, articles and flashcards to help you improve your core academic skills, explore careers, build workplace readiness and more. (EBSCOhost)
University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection
  • VCCS-wide subscription
  • VIVA-wide subscription
  • eBooks and eAudioBooks
  • Available for free via open access
New
Alternate Name(s) University of Michigan Press Fund to Mission Open Access Monograph Model
A collection of ebooks from University of Michigan Press covering a variety of humanities and social sciences topics.
Loading...
title
Loading...