Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research. Browse by subject, or find them alphabetically by title. Then click on the database name and search for sources.
Browse Database List
Find Databases by Title

Loading...
Search for eJournals by Title

Search for electronic journals by title, such as "New York Times" or "Journal of the American Medical Association."



New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
America’s News This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): NewsBank
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. (NewsBank)
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History Since 1940 (Part I & II) This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • VCCS-wide subscription
  • VIVA-wide subscription
New
This database contains primary source material (not articles) related to LGBTQIA+ people, groups, organizations, and topics since 1940.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): NewsBank, America’s News
This newspaper collection focuses on topics related to Black life in America. Providing local, regional, national, and international coverage from across the U.S. and the world. (NewsBank)
Cambridge Core Journals This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • VIVA-wide subscription
New
Cambridge University Press currently publishes more than 420 peer-reviewed academic journals covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine. (Cambridge)
Choice This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): ChoiceReviews Online
Choice is a publishing unit of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association. Choice supports the work and professional development of academic librarians by providing tools and services that help them become more effective advocates for their patrons.
Daily Progress Collection This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): NewsBank, America's News
Explore Charlottesville history through local news, events and people with the Daily Progress Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. (NewsBank)
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
  • VCCS-wide subscription
  • VIVA-wide subscription
  • Video clips are available
New
Alternate Name(s): Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for the study of performing arts and dramatic texts. Digital Theatre+ guides the learning experience with access to an ever-growing library of productions, workshops, interviews and analysis. (Digital Theatre+)
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • VCCS-wide subscription
  • VIVA-wide subscription
  • Video clips are available
  • eBooks and eAudioBooks
New
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materials within this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research. (Alexander Street)
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): NewsBank, America's News
This newspaper collection focuses on topics related to Hispanic life in America. Providing local, regional, and national news coverage from across the U.S. (NewsBank)
HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window
New
Contains video oral history interviews of many important African Americans from all walks of life. Rather than focusing on a single subject, such as their career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews cover their entire span of memories. The archive continues to grow with new videos added daily and memories stretching from 1890s to the present. (HistoryMakers)
New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
New
Read the New York Times articles as published on their website. You must register for a free account first. Full-text coverage: 1851-present (New York Times Company)
Nursing and Allied Health eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
  • VCCS-wide subscription
  • eBooks and eAudioBooks
New
From clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals, to practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care. (EBSCO)
Prehospital Emergency Care This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Prehospital Emergency Care publishes international research relevant to the practice, educational advancement and investigation of emergency medical services. (Taylor & Francis)
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
  • VIVA-wide subscription
  • Video clips are available
New
Access hundreds of videos designed to improve the clinical skills of mental health professionals. Psychotherapy.net videos feature experts in session with real clients, and step-by-step explanations of their interventions.
Richmond Times Dispatch Collection This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Alternate Name(s): NewsBank
Access newspaper articles published in the Richmond-Times Dispatch from 1985 to present day.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
  • Video clips are available
  • Accessible only to current PVCC students, faculty and staff.
New
Videos are added upon request by professors for use in their courses. We have a select number of videos through this database.
Virginia Chronicle This link opens in a new window
  • Provides access to whole articles, in addition to citations and abstracts.
  • Available for free via open access
New
Alternate Name(s): The Virginia Newspaper Program, The Virginia Newspaper Project, Virginia Memory
Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over 3 million newspaper pages. (Library of Virginia)
Loading...
title
Loading...