Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
How do I search library databases?
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Select a database
Step 1:
Start by searching the "Find Articles" box on the library's homepage. This searches a selection of databases from a company called EBSCO. It is a good starting point for most topics. Need help searching EBSCO? See our playbook on How do I search EBSCO?
For best results, search by using keywords separated by AND. All the keywords you use should be directly related to your topic. For example, if you're investigating how music may affect infants' sleep, search using this string: music AND infants AND sleep. See example below.
Step 2:
If you can't find what you need in the EBSCO databases, try another database. A complete list is on our Database List page. Click the "Database List" button on our homepage.
Step 3:
Select a Subject from the left menu to find the appropriate database. If you're off-campus, you will be prompted to login. Below is a list of particularly helpful databases:
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use this database for your art classes, where you need to find pictures of famous artwork and paintings. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for controversial issues topics (animal rights, abortion, gun laws, etc.). This is especially useful in communications classes, where you must give a persuasive speech. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find newspaper articles. - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for literature assignments. If you're writing a paper on a novel or short story, this is the best place to go. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for computer science, technology, and engineering assignments. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for assignments in the humanities - history, philosophy, or religion. - ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for biology, chemistry, geology, or engineering assignments. It also has a good computer science/technology collection.
Tips!
- It's helpful to use boolean search terms when searching library databases. Combine nouns with any of these terms: and, or, not. For example, if you want articles that talk about dogs AND cats (both terms appear in each article), or dogs OR cats (either term can appear in the article), or dogs NOT cats (the term "dogs" appears in the article, but if "cats" also appears, then it's filtered out).
- Can't find what you need? Ask a librarian.