Jessup Playbooks Logo

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

What's this site and how do I use it?

This site is a list of the most useful databases the library subscribes to.  To use it:

  1. Decide on a topic for your research.
  2. Using the list of subjects on the left hand side of the screen, select the broad subject your topic falls under.  Examples:
    Examples of Database Subjects:
    Topic Best section to find databases
    Depression
    • Psychology
    • Nursing & Health Sciences
    Revolutionary War
    • History
    Legalization of Marijuana
    • Government & Political Science
    • Controversial Issues
  3. Next, click on the selected subject and read the descriptions for each database listed in that section.  
  4. Click the title of the database to go to it.  Note that if you're off-campus, you will have to sign in with your Canvas credentials to access it. 
  5. Questions? Ask a librarian. We're here to help!

Start with these databases

Not sure where to start?  These are some of our most popular and most useful databases:

ARTstor logo

ARTstor

Includes over 2.5 million images of paintings in museums, sculptures, building architecture, illustrations, and photography.  Need help searching ARTstor?

CQPress Logo

CQ Researcher

This database is best for controversial topics like abortion, climate change, gun control, death penalty, healthcare policy, etc.  Articles answer a single question, such as "Is rising student debt jeopardizing the value of college?" and provide extensive information about the issue, including a pro/con section.  Need help searching CQ Researcher?

EBSCO logo

EBSCO's Databases

Always start your research with EBSCO. Why? Because it covers (almost) all topics, and it's easy to search.  Need help searching ESBCO's Databases?

Factiva Logo

Factiva

Note: This database is currently experiencing some problems. After you click this link and login, you will need to come back and click it a second time. It will not work the first time. The VCCS Systems Office in Richmond is working to fix it. This database has the best newspaper content, but searching it can be challengingNeed help searching Factiva? 

Facts on File Issues Logo

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies

This database is also good for controversial topics, like CQ Researcher.  Need help searching Facts on File?

Films on Demand Logo

Films on Demand

Watch documentaries online from PBS, BBC, History Channel, A&E, National Geographic, NBC, ABC, etc.  Need help searching Films on Demand?

Gale Ebooks Logo

Gale eBooks

A large collection of encyclopedias covering a great variety of topics. Best used for topic overviews (background information). Need help searching Gale eBooks?

Gale Opposing Viewpoints logo

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

This is another database that's good for controversial topics, like CQ Researcher.  Need help searching Opposing Viewpoints?

JSTOR logo

JSTOR

This database is a fantastic resource for topics in history, philosophy, religion, or literature.  Need help searching JSTOR?

Wiley logo

Wiley Online Library

This is also a broad database that covers many subjects like EBSCO.  Need help searching Wiley Online Library?