How do I find statistics?

From the U.S. Census Bureau, offers population, housing, economic and geographic data.

The official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.

Fedstats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.

The Gallup Poll, a division of the Gallup Company, publishes a variety of public opinion polls.

An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism and other fields.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.

An e-book containing statistical information for all incorporated places in the United States covered by the 2000 Census.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

The home of the U.S. government's open data; find tools and resources for research and statistics.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions and price changes in the economy.

The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) started in 2004 as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to the nation’s economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System—through digitization of documents related to the U.S. financial system.

The Federal Reserve Economic Data database contains statistics on the consumer price index (CPI), gross domestic product (GDP), population and employment rates, interest and exchanges rates, imports and exports, and commodities production and prices.

The BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Data collected include the Population & Housing Census, Economic Census, Government Census, American Community Survey and Economic Indicators.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.

Data on education.

The Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 created the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) to administer data collection, analysis and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources.

A report of the BTS, National Transportation Statistics presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environments, and national security. This is a large online document comprising more than 260 data tables, data source and accuracy statements, glossary and a list of acronyms and initialisms.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policy making, efficient markets and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

The purpose of AIDS.gov is to expand the visibility of timely and relevant Federal HIV policies, programs and resources to the American public.

BRFSS is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions and use of preventive services.

CMS offers a broad range of quantitative information on its programs, from estimates of future Medicare and Medicaid spending to enrollment, spending and claims data. It also conducts demonstration projects to explore alternative policies of health care coverage and delivery.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings offers information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues.

The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), which is one of 11 agencies that compose the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The NCI, established under the National Cancer Institute Act of 1937, is the Federal Government's principal agency for cancer research and training.

The Center for Disease Control (CDC) works with states and other partners to provide a system of health surveillance to monitor and prevent disease outbreaks (including bioterrorism), implement disease prevention strategies and maintain national health statistics.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Data provided by the Center for Disease Control (CDC); access statistics on the national- or state-level.

The National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics was established by Congress to serve as an advisory body to the Department of Health and Human Services on health data, statistics and national health information policy.

The National Institute of Drug Abuse conducts research across a broad range of disciplines and ensures rapid and effective dissemination and use of the results of that research to significantly improve prevention and treatment and to inform policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

WONDER -- Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

Datapedia brings together into one source a compendium of the most significant historical statistics of the United States from 1789 to 2003, as well as demographic and other select data projections through 2050.

From the U.S. Census Bureau.

A publication of the U.S. Census Bureau.

A publication of the U.S. Census Bureau.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

The purpose of the Bureau of Justice Statistics is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing and archiving those statistics.

This report presents statistics on the work of the Federal Judiciary for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2012, comparing data for this year to data for prior years and, when possible, explaining increases or decreases in caseloads. Separate sections of the report address the appellate, district and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services system; and other components of the Federal Judiciary.

The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by religion scholars and research centers worldwide. Currently housed in Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, Chapman University and Pennsylvania State University.

From the Pew Research Center's Religion & Public Life Project.

From the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.

From Pew Research Center, Religion & Public Life.