- PVCC Jessup Library
- Jessup Playbooks
- PHY Assignments Playbook
- PHY 241-242C (Goddard)
Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
PHY Assignments Playbook
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian @
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
PHY 241-242 Civic Engagement Assignment
- As part of the civic engagement assignment for this course you are required to
- investigate, explain, analyze, evaluate, and reflect on issues of public consequence at the local, state, or national level
- examine the issues or problems from multiple perspectives.
- develop/propose viable solutions to these issues or problems
- approach these tasks from within the disciplinary framework of the course itself, that is, from within the physics framework
- This is a complex assignment that will require significant research using reliable and appropriate sources.Tame the assignment by following these suggestions:
- Read the assignment carefully and make sure you understand what is expected of you.
- Read assignment rubrics to further understand the parameters.
- As you read the assignment instructions, jot down the keywords used in the wording of these instructions. See this playbook to learn how to run effective keyword searches.
- Example keywords: fluid dynamics, disease transmission, COVID-19, masks, respiratory jets; respiratory droplets; airbags, safety, fuel economy, regulations, legislation, autopilot, statistics
- Example search strings:
- automobile AND autopilot AND statistics
- airbags AND regulations
- safety AND fuel economy
- fluid dynamics AND disease transmission
- COVID-19 AND masks AND respiratory droplets
- When in doubt about assignment directions, instructions, parameters, etc., please contact your instructor.
Use databases
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc. - IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. This includes full-text journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and active IEEE standards. Full-text coverage: 1872-present (IEEE) - ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from the journals, magazines, and conference proceedings of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world's oldest and largest educational and scientific computing society. Full-text coverage: 1936-present (Association for Computing Machinery) - O'Reilly for Higher Education Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of ebooks covering a wide variety of technology, engineering, computer science, and business topics. (ProQuest) - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database pulls together data and statistics from thousands of sources on many different topics. Download the charts and graphs provided in this database and incorporate them into your presentations. Much of the focus is on demographic data, company data, and market trends. (Statista)
Use reliable Web resources
Need Help?
- For help finding resources, use the information in the library's playbooks. Librarians can help you understand the playbooks, but they cannot conduct research for you.
- For help with formatting citations, please consult the library's citation styles playbooks. Please note the librarians cannot help you with citation generators or with any citation guide other than the library's.
- For help with composition issues (such as spelling, grammar, flow, etc.), please visit the Writing Center.
- If you have questions, please email the librarians at reference@pvcc.edu, visit the library and speak with a librarian, or connect via chat. If your section has an embedded librarian, contact that specific librarian.