Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
Resources for Dual Enrollment Faculty and Librarians
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Jessup Playbooks
In sports, players use playbooks as road maps to victory. A playbook contains strategies and moves developed by experienced coaches and other players, and players rely on the fruits of this expertise to maximize their game. At the Jessup Library, our librarians function as research coaches, and they use their expertise to put together playbooks that provide you with strategies to succeed in research. Use the Jessup Playbooks and win at college!
Databases
Visit our database list to see what we have. A selection of popular databases is listed below:
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowExplores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, science and technology, health and education. Experienced journalists write the 12,000-word reports, which include comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of the topic.
-
EBSCO This link opens in a new windowA collection of 30+ databases (including electronic books), covering a wide range of topics.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of 6,000 full-text news and business publications by word or phrase and date.
-
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowComprised of Contemporary Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism, profiles selected authors and provides excerpts from critical analyses of their works.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowHas critical analyses, biographical information and bibliographies of authors and their works.
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers hot topic issues, presenting pro and con views, plus multimedia sources.
-
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts or the full text of scholarly journal articles as well as reference and multimedia material.
Online Videos
The library subscribes to video collections that can be accessed on or off campus. Click the links below to search databases directly, or learn how to find our videos.
-
American History in Video This link opens in a new windowFrom Alexander Street Press, offers over 5000 videos and clips, including newsreels and documentaries on American history. Browse by historical era or event or search for specific topics.
-
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of documentary videos on a variety of subjects and watch them online. (Docuseek)
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowWatch streaming videos on guidance and counseling and health and medicine.
-
Films on Demand: History Video Collection This link opens in a new window
From America to Zimbabwe, from the ancient world to the present day, this collection of thousands of history titles brings to life the time and place you are studying. This database contains an unparalleled collection of documentaries, educational videos, interviews, speeches, and newsreels. (Infobase)
-
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Stream a broad selection of thousands of documentaries, feature films, and training videos on all topics from thousands of producers, including Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, BBC, and many more. (Kanopy)