Jessup Playbooks Logo

Linking to Library Resources

Learn how to create links to articles and journals that always work.

Step 1: Find Permalinks

Find the resource in a database, and look for a link to a "permalink," "bookmark," or "durable link".

For many databases, you cannot just copy and paste the URL in your browser to link back to a resource.  That URL will often contain information that is particular to your session, a.k.a. this exact moment that you accessed the resource.  It won't work if you try to type that in tomorrow.  So, you must create a "permalink" or a "permanent link" to the article or video.  Many databases will automatically generate this for you.  Once you reach the citation page, look for "permalink" or "bookmark" or "share" or "embed/link."  This special link will remove any session information and include PVCC's proxy information.   

Only these databases have correct permalinks:

Alexander Street Press databases (except HarpWeek)

Docuseek (Click Embed)

EBSCO databases

Gale databases

HeinOnline Academic

Infobase databases 

Kanopy

ProQuest databases - Copy the document URL on the Abstract/Details page.

Sage Video

Example: EBSCO

1. From your results list in EBSCO, click on the article title you wish to link to in your Canvas course.

2. When the full article / record appears - click on the Permalink option from the Tools menu on the right.

permalink icon

3. When the Permalink window appears near the top of the article title, highlight, copy, and paste the Permalink into your Canvas course.  Note the PVCC proxy prefix is in front of the EBSCO link.  Click on the image below to go to the article from the Academic Search Complete database.

permalink copy and paste

 

4. That's it!  There is no need to edit the URL because the proxy prefix is in front of the link.  EBSCO makes it super easy!

Step 2: Add the proxy prefix

If you cannot find a link with the proxy information included, add the proxy prefix in front of the URL.  That prefix is: http://ezpvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=

VCCS login pageDatabases whose URLs must be edited:

Example: Wiley Online Library

  1. From the results list in Wiley Online Library, click on the PDF link for the article you wish to link to in your Canvas course.
     
  2. When the PDF article appears, highlight, copy, and paste the URL in your browser address bar into your Canvas course.

    Screenshot with this link: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1111/j.1475-4991.2011.00458.x

    Note: If your URL has any proxy information in it, remove it first.  For example:
    Change this link: https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com.ezpvcc.vccs.edu:2443/doi/epdf/10.1111/j.1475-4991.2011.00458.x
    to this link: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1111/j.1475-4991.2011.00458.x
     
  3. Add the following URL prefix in front of the Wiley Online Library URL:  
    http://ezpvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url= 
     
  4. Your final URL should look something like this:  
    http://ezpvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/epdf/10.1111/j.1475-4991.2011.00458.x

Special Case: Factiva

NOTE: Factiva is currently experiencing problems.  After you create the permalink, click it, and login, it won't work.  You need to click it a second time to get to the article off-campus.  The Systems Office in Richmond is working to fix this.

Factiva does not provide permalinks. You can, however, generate the URL with the proxy information manually by pasting the article's accession number to the generator below. You can find accession number at the bottom left corner of the article.  

Example of a Factiva accession number (starts after "Document"): Factiva accession number example