Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.
How do I write an academic research paper?
Need Help?
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu
Library Databases in 5 Minutes
Posted with permission from North Carolina State University Libraries.
Search for eJournals
Search for electronic journals by title.
Choose a Database
The below databases have information in a wide variety of subject areas, so they are often a good place to start. Other databases are listed alphabetically or by subject if you need more information.
If you know the title of the journal you are looking for, but not the database that it's in, use the Search for eJournals box above.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report is written by a seasoned journalist based on a common structure. Users may browse through articles by topics in alphabetical order, or search for articles using words, dates, or other criteria. Full-text coverage: 1923-present (CQ Press)
- EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Choose from multiple databases within the EBSCO platform. These databases cover a wide range of subjects, including history, communications, sociology, religion, biology etc.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business-focused database offers full-text access to magazines, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and newswires. Also provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. Full-text coverage: 1951-present (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.)
- Facts on File: Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Includes articles, videos, and primary source documents. (Infobase Learning)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Watch streaming videos from such publishers as the BBC, History Education, HBO, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Frontline, National Geographic and more. Topics range from health and medicine to history to biology and many more. (Infobase)
- FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
[NO FULL-TEXT] Provides citations and abstracts of periodicals, books and other materials covering a wide range of subjects. (OCLC)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of articles and ebooks, mostly in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. PVCC subscribes to Arts & Sciences Collections I-III, VII, & XI, as well as select titles through the current journals collection. Full-text coverage: 1769-present (JSTOR)
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. (Gale)
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog to find ebooks, articles, physical books, etc. (Ex Libris)
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. Full-text coverage: 1977-present (Wiley)
