Skip to main content

Citation Styles Playbook

The purpose of this playbook is to help you cite the sources used in your academic research.

What is the Chicago Style?

The Chicago style is a set of citation rules created by the University of Chicago Press. This style is widely used in publishing, and is also used by other humanities and social sciences disciplines. For some examples, see the citation guide from The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Source

A Note about Using MS Word to Format Citations

Microsoft Word includes a citation utility that promises to format citations in several styles, such as MLA, APA, and Chicago.  This utility should not be used, as it is never correctly programmed and produces erroneously formatted citations. 

Please note that the Jessup Library librarians do not support the Word citing utility and are therefore unable to help students who choose to use it.  The librarians suggest learning how to cite from scratch.

Notes on the Chicago Manual of Style

Unlike the APA and MLA, The Chicago Manual of Style provides two alternative formats: the (1) Notes and Bibliography format and (2) the Author-Date format.  Consult with your instructor to determine which of the systems you should use.

  • NOTES AND BIBLIOGRAPHY FORMAT : The notes and bibliography system is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.
  • AUTHOR-DATE FORMAT: The author-date system is used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.