Citation Styles Playbook

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Michael Pollan, The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99–100.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.

• Pollan, Omnivore’s Dilemma, 3.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.

*Include all authors in the first note, subsequent note, and bibliography. Only the first author’s name is inverted in the bibliography.

FIRST NOTE: First author's first & last names and second author's first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: First author's last name and second author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page numbers.

• Ward and Burns, War, 59–61.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:  First author's last name, first name, and second author's first & last names. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.

*If a source has four or more authors, include only the first author in-text, followed by et al. (Latin for “and others”). List up to ten authors in the bibliography; for more than ten authors, include only the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.

FIRST NOTE: First author's first & last names et al., Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Dana Barnes et al., Plastics: Essays on American Corporate Ascendance in the 1960s. (New York: Knopf, 2011), 132.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: First author's last name et al., Shortened  Book Title, page number.

• Barnes et al., Plastics, 145.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: First author's last name, first name, additional author's first & last names. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Barnes, Dana, Janet Smith, Daria Silver, and Ben Braddock. Plastics: Essays on American Corporate  Ascendance in the 1960s. New York: Knopf, 2011.

*List the name(s) of the editor(s), translator(s), or compiler(s) when no author appears on the title page. Use the abbreviation ed. or eds., trans., comp. or comps. following the name. 

FIRST NOTE: Editor/Translator/Compiler first & last names, ed./trans./comp., Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Harold Schecter and Kurt Brown, comps., Killer Verse: Poems of Murder and Mayhem (London: Everyman Paperback Classics, 2011), 33.
• Richmond Lattimore, trans., The Iliad of Homer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951), 91–92.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Editor/Translator/Compiler's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.

• Schecter and Brown, Killer Verse, 54-56.
• Lattimore, Iliad, 24.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Editor/Translator/Compiler's last name, first name, ed./trans./comp. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Schecter, Harold and Kurt Brown, comps. Killer Verse: Poems of Murder and Mayhem. London: Everyman Paperback Classics, 2011.
• Lattimore, Richmond, trans. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951.

*List the author’s name first and then include the name(s) of the editor(s), translator(s), or compiler(s), preceded by edited by or ed., compiled by or comp., or translated by or trans. Only spell out edited by, compiled by, or translated by in the bibliography. Use the abbreviations in the notes.

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, Book Title, ed./trans./comp. Editor/Translator/Compiler's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Yves Bonnefoy, New and Selected Poems, ed. John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995), 48.
• Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1988), 242–55.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page number.

• Bonnefoy, New and Selected Poems, 50.
• García Márquez, Cholera, 33.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. Book Title. Edited/Translated by Editor/Translator's first & last names. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Bonnefoy, Yves. New and Selected Poems. Edited by John Naughton and Anthony Rudolf. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995.
• García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1988.

*Chicago Manual of Style section 14.104

*In the notes, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the full page range for the chapter or part of the book.

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Chapter or Essay title," in Book Title, ed. Editor's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• John D. Kelly, “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War,” in Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, ed. John D. Kelly et al. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010), 77.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Shortened Chapter title," page numbers.

• Kelly, “Seeing Red,” 81–82.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Kelly, John D. “Seeing Red: Mao Fetishism, Pax Americana, and the Moral Economy of War.” In Anthropology and Global Counterinsurgency, edited by John D. Kelly, Beatrice Jauregui, Sean T. Mitchell, and Jeremy Walton, 67–83. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.

*Chicago Manual of Style section 14.106

FIRST NOTE: Author's first & last names, "Chapter or Essay title," in Book Title, ed. Editor's first & last names, vol. number of Series Title, ed. Editor's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Quintus Tullius Cicero, “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship,” in Rome: Late Republic and Principate, ed. Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White, vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, ed. John Boyer and Julius Kirshner (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986), 35.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, "Shortened Chapter or essay title," page numbers.

• Cicero, “Canvassing for the Consulship,” 35.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author's last name, first name. "Chapter or essay title." In Book Title, edited by Editor's first & last names. Vol. number of Series Title, edited by Editor's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. Originally published in Editor/Translator's name, ed./trans., Book Title, vol. number (City of Publication: Publisher, Year).

• Cicero, Quintus Tullius. “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship.” In Rome: Late Republic and Principate, edited by Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White. Vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, edited by John Boyer and Julius Kirshner, 33–46. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986. Originally published in Evelyn S. Shuckburgh, trans., The Letters of Cicero, vol. 1 (London: George Bell & Sons, 1908).

*Chicago Manual of Style section 14.106, 14.114, 14.120

*If the title uses a generic term such as preface, introduction, or foreward, add the term in lowercase before the title. If the author of the section is someone other than the primary author, include them first. The primary author of the book would then follow the title of the book. See below for examples:

FIRST NOTE: Author of introduction's first & last names, introduction/preface to Book Title, by author of book's first & last names (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers.

• Christopher Hitchens, introduction to Civilization and Its Discontents, by Sigmund Freud, trans. and ed. James Strachey (New York: W. W. Norton, 2010), 9.

• James Rieger, introduction to Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982), xx–xxi.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author of introduction's last name, introduction to Shortened Book Title, page numbers.

• Hitchens, introduction to Civilization, 10.

• Rieger, introduction to Frankenstein , xxxiii.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author of introduction's last name, first name. Introduction/preface to Book Title, by author of book's first & last names, page numbers. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

• Hitchens, Christopher. Introduction to Civilization and Its Discontents, by Sigmund Freud. Translated and edited by James Strachey, 9-19. New York: W. W. Norton, 2010.

• Rieger, James. Introduction to Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus, by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, xi–xxxvii. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982.

*Chicago Manual of Style section 14.110

*Well-known reference books (e.g., Encyclopedia Britannica) can be cited in the footnotes and left out of the bibliography. For lesser-known reference works, include the publication details like other books. References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item (not the volume or page numbers) preceded by s.v. (sub verbo, Latin for “under the word”).

FIRST NOTE: Reference Work Title, edition (year), s.v. “word.”

• Encyclopedia Britannica,15th ed. (1980), s.v. "salvation."

• Dictionary of American Biography (1937), s.v. "Wadsworth, Jeremiah."

SUBSEQUENT NOTE: Reference Work Title, s.v. "word."

• Encyclopedia Britannica, s.v. "salvation."
• Dictionary of American Biography, s.v. "Wadsworth, Jeremiah."

BIBLIOGRAHY:

*Usually omitted. If the reference work is lesser-known, cite it like any other book resource.

*Chicago Manual of Style sections 14.232-234

*Well-known reference works (e.g., Merriam-Webster or Wikipedia) can be cited in the footnotes and left out of the bibliography. Reference works consulted online are cited in notes like print editions and include a posted publication or revision date. If none is available, provide an access date. Include a URL as the last element.

FIRST NOTE: Reference Work Title, edition (year), s.v. “word.”

• Wikipedia, s.v. “Stevie Nicks,” last modified January 4, 2023, 12:06, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stevie_Nicks.
• Merriam-Webster, s.v. “pedagogy (n.),” accessed January 5, 2023, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pedagogy.

SUBSEQUENT NOTE: Reference Work Title, s.v. "word."

• Wikipedia, s.v. "Stevie Nicks."
• Merriam-Webster, s.v. "pedagogy (n.)."

BIBLIOGRAHY:

*Usually omitted

*Chicago Manual of Style sections 14.232-234

Only include an access date if your instructor requires it.

FIRST NOTE: Author first & last names, Book Title (City of Publication: Publisher, Year), E-book format OR accessed date, URL.

• Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), Kindle edition.
• Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders’ Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), accessed February 28, 2010, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

SUBSEQUENT NOTES: Author's last name, Shortened Book Title, page numbers or chapter number, if applicable.

• Austen, Pride and Prejudice, chap 3.
• Kurland and Lerner, Founder’s Constitution, chap. 10, doc. 19.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author last name, first name. Book Title. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. E-book format OR accessed date. URL.

• Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle edition.
• Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.

*Chicago Manual of Style sections 14.159-163

*If the reader and author are the same, replace “read by first & last name” with “read by the author.”

FIRST NOTE: Author’s first & last name, Book Title, read by first & last name (City: Publisher, year), medium, running time.

• Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, read by Bernadette Dunne (New York: Random House Audio, 2012), Audible audio ed., 6:42:20. 

SUBSEQUENT NOTE: Author’s last name, Shortened Book Title, time stamp.

• Strayed, Wild, 12:34:17.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Author’s last name, first name. Book Title. Read by first name & last name. City: Publisher, year. Medium, running time.

• Strayed, Cheryl. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail. Read by Bernadette Dunne. New York: Random House Audio, 2012. Audible audio ed., 12 hr., 6 min.

*Chicago Manual of Style section 14.264