Jessup Playbooks Logo

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

List of Databases for Film & Theater Topics

EBSCO logo

EBSCO's Databases

A good place to start your research, as this collection of databases cover (almost) all topics. Very powerful search interface, but works just fine with simple searches.  Need help searching EBSCO's Databases?

Project MUSE logo

Project MUSE

This is another database that has some articles on film and theater.  Need help searching Project MUSE?

JSTOR logo

JSTOR

This database will also have some articles on film and theater.  Need help searching JSTOR?

Wiley logo

Wiley Online Library

This is also a broad database that covers many subjects like EBSCO. Need help searching Wiley Online Library?

Stash Magazine logo

Stash Magazine

Access the largest online video archive of design, animation, and VFX projects.

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Search for great theater performances from BroadwayHD, as well as documentaries from a variety of film studios.  Need help searching AVON?

Kanopy logo

Kanopy

Watch some of the best performances in theater, as well as documentaries, independent, art house, and international films.  Need help searching Kanopy?

Not finding what you need?  Access other databases for film & theater research.

Film & Theater Playbooks

The library creates "playbooks" for research.  In sports, teams have playbooks that help them win the game. At PVCC, the library has playbooks that help you "win" at research.  Check them out:

Still Stuck?

Please ask us for help!  There are no stupid questions.

How to Ask for Help:
In-Person  By Email   By Phone  Chat 24/7  
No appointment required.  The library is in the Main Building near the Bookstore. reference@pvcc.edu
We respond within 48 hours except on weekends and holidays.
434-961-5309 Get help now with non-PVCC, professional librarians.