Jessup Playbooks Logo

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

List of Databases for Nursing & Health Sciences Topics

EBSCO logo

CINAHL Complete

A good place to start your research.  Very powerful search interface, but works just fine with simple searches.  Need help searching EBSCO's Databases?

Nursing Reference Center logo

Nursing Reference Center

This database contains drug manuals, care plan guides, and lab manuals.  Look up disease and drug information.  Essential for every nursing student!  Need help searching Nursing Reference Center?

LWW Health Library: Made Incredibly Easy!

This database provides access to ebooks in the Made Incredibly Easy! series. These ebooks can help nursing students understand essential health topics and prepare them for clinical rotations.  Need help searching LWW Health Library?

Mometrix Logo

Mometrix - TEAS and NCLEX Study Materials

Do you need to study for the TEAS or NCLEX exams?  This database has some great study materials and practice questions for you to use.  

undefined

OVID Journals

Access articles from peer-reviewed nursing journals.  We have access to 2015 and prior for most journals + Nursing Community College Basic Journal CollectionNeed help searching OVID Journals?

New England Journal of Medicine logo

New England Journal of Medicine

Search for articles from the New England Journal of MedicineNeed help searching the New England Journal of Medicine?

Biological Science Collection logo

Biological Science Collection

Search this comprehensive database for articles for your health sciences research.  After EBSCO, this is the next best place to try to find sources for your assignment.  Need help searching the Biological Science Collection?
BioOne Complete logo

BioOne Complete

If you strike out in EBSCO or the Biological Science Collection, try this database.  The articles found here probably aren't listed anywhere else.  Need help searching BioOne Complete?

Wiley logo

Wiley Online Library

This is also a broad database that covers many subjects like EBSCO. Need help searching Wiley Online Library?

Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas

Taking an A&P or Nursing class?  This database provides a virtual 3D model of the human body that lets you virtually dissect and identify its parts.  Want to download the mobile app?

Films on Demand logo

Films on Demand

There are many videos in this database on nursing skills and what it's like to work in the health sciences.  Need help searching Films on Demand?

Sage Video

Search for documentaries and educational videos in the area of nursing.  Need help searching Sage Video?

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Search for many documentaries and lectures on nursing and the health sciences.  Need help searching AVON?

Kanopy logo

Kanopy

Watch hundreds of documentaries, independent, and international films.  Need help searching Kanopy?

Not finding what you need?  Access other databases for nursing & health sciences research.

Nursing & Health Sciences Playbooks

The library creates "playbooks" for research.  In sports, teams have playbooks that help them win the game. At PVCC, the library has playbooks that help you "win" at research.  Check them out:

Still Stuck?

Please ask us for help!  There are no stupid questions.

How to Ask for Help:
In-Person  By Email   By Phone  Chat 24/7  
No appointment required.  The library is in the Main Building near the Bookstore. reference@pvcc.edu
We respond within 48 hours except on weekends and holidays.
434-961-5309 Get help now with non-PVCC, professional librarians.