Jessup Playbooks Logo

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

List of Databases for History Topics

EBSCO logo

EBSCO's Databases

A good place to start your research, as this collection of databases cover (almost) all topics. Very powerful search interface, but works just fine with simple searches.  Need help searching EBSCO's Databases?

JSTOR logo

JSTOR

This is a fantastic database for history topics.  Need help searching JSTOR?

Wiley logo

Wiley Online Library

This is also a broad database that covers many subjects like EBSCO. Need help searching Wiley Online Library?

Project MUSE logo

Project MUSE

Try this database if the others turn up empty.  Need help searching Project MUSE?

Alexander Street Press logo

American History in Video

Watch documentaries, news clips, interviews, and speeches on events in American history through the years.  Need help searching American History in Video?

Films on Demand logo

Films on Demand: History Video Collection

This database contains a collection of documentaries, interviews, speeches, and newsreels that depict and explain events from around the world throughout history.  Need help searching Films on Demand?

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Search for thousands of documentaries, interviews, lectures, and newsreels on many historical topics.  Need help searching AVON?

Westlaw

This comprehensive database of legal materials includes federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials.  It is used by lawyers around the country.  Need help searching Westlaw?

HeinOnline Logo

HeinOnline Academic

This database provides access to articles from legal journals, case law, and congressional documents. It is a great resource if you are doing legal research.  Need help searching HeinOnline?

See also Diversity Studies lists.
Not finding what you need?  Access other databases for history research.

History Playbooks

The library creates "playbooks" for research.  In sports, teams have playbooks that help them win the game. At PVCC, the library has playbooks that help you "win" at research.  Check them out:

Still Stuck?

Please ask us for help!  There are no stupid questions.

How to Ask for Help:
In-Person  By Email   By Phone  Chat 24/7  
No appointment required.  The library is in the Main Building near the Bookstore. reference@pvcc.edu
We respond within 48 hours except on weekends and holidays.
434-961-5309 Get help now with non-PVCC, professional librarians.