Jessup Playbooks Logo

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

List of Databases for African American Studies Topics

EBSCO logo

EBSCO's Databases

A good place to start your research, as this collection of databases cover (almost) all topics. Very powerful search interface, but works just fine with simple searches.  Need help searching EBSCO's Databases?

JSTOR logo

JSTOR

This is a fantastic database for topics related to African American life.  Need help searching JSTOR?

African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883

Find a ton of primary sources - books, pamphlets, and speeches - published from the end of the Civil War through the beginning of Jim Crow.  

African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922

Find a ton of primary sources - books, pamphlets, and speeches - published from the beginning of Jim Crow to just after World War I.  

HeinOnline: Civil Rights and Social Justice

Find hearings and committee reports, legislative histories on landmark civil rights legislation, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, and other publications.  Need help searching HeinOnline?

HeinOnline: Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law

Find legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.  This includes every statute passed on slavery, all court cases on slavery, pamphlets and books written about slavery, legal commentaries on slavery pre-1920, and some modern histories of slavery.  Need help searching HeinOnline?

African American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. 

Not finding what you need?  Access other databases for African American Studies research.

Still Stuck?

Please ask us for help!  There are no stupid questions.

How to Ask for Help:
In-Person  By Email   By Phone  Chat 24/7  
No appointment required.  The library is in the Main Building near the Bookstore. reference@pvcc.edu
We respond within 48 hours except on weekends and holidays.
434-961-5309 Get help now with non-PVCC, professional librarians.