Looking for sources? Search EBSCO or QuickSearch.

Database List

Select the best database for your research topic.

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian @
Betty Sue Jessup Library
501 College Drive
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434.961.5309
reference@pvcc.edu

List of Databases for Sociology Topics

	EBSCO's Databases A good place to start your research, as this collection of databases cover (almost) all topics. Very powerful search interface, but works just fine with simple searches. Need help searching EBSCO's Databases?
	Wiley Online Library This is also a broad database that covers many subjects like EBSCO. Need help searching Wiley Online Library?
	JSTOR This is a fantastic database for sociology topics. Need help searching JSTOR?
	Cambridge Core Journals This is a broad database that covers many subjects: the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
	African Books Collective African Books Collective (ABC) is an African-owned mission-based distribution outlet for books published independently in Africa.
	Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History Since 1940 (Part I & II) This database contains primary source material (not articles) related to LGBTQIA+ people, groups, organizations, and topics since 1940.
	Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materials within this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research. (Alexander Street)
	Not finding what you need? Access other databases for sociology research.

Sociology Playbooks

The library creates "playbooks" for research. In sports, teams have playbooks that help them win the game. At PVCC, the library has playbooks that help you "win" at research. Why use assignment specific playbooks?

They contain information related to specific assignments
They clarify the assignment instructions and requirements
They provide links to specific materials/journals/books/etc. that may be required by your instructor

How do I recognize primary, secondary, and tertiary sources?
by L Skinner Last Updated Jan 31, 2024 41 views this year
How do I use books to find background information?
by L Skinner Last Updated Jan 31, 2024 51 views this year
SOC 200 & 215 Assignment Playbook
by L Skinner Last Updated Jan 31, 2024 96 views this year
SOC 268 Assignment Playbook
by L Skinner Last Updated Dec 19, 2023 55 views this year

Still Stuck?

Please ask us for help! There are no stupid questions.

How to Ask for Help:
In-Person	By Email	By Phone	Chat 24/7
No appointment required. The library is in the Main Building near the Bookstore.	reference@pvcc.edu We respond within 48 hours except on weekends and holidays.	434-961-5309	Get help now with non-PVCC, professional librarians.

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2023 11:27 AM
URL: https://libguides.pvcc.edu/database-list
Print Page